release date:
29th of August 2011


105 dkk/14€
(free shipping)



Available in a deluxe gatefold CD cover with poster made by Hvass&Hannibal.

01. Chicago (Chicago)
02. Autark (Nashville)
03. Indian Summer (Des Moines) - FREE MP3
04. Honeysuckle (Milwaukee)
05. Velveteenager (Minneapolis B)
06. Heavy Heart (Minneapolis A)
07. Lulls (Memphis)
08. Fading Colors (Bloomington)
09. A Native (Madison)
10. Bows & Arrows (Vegas)
11. Andalusia (Davenport)

Back in 2006, we (Efterklang) were contacted by an American artist from Nashville who presented himself as Canon Blue. We listened to his demos and immediately fell in love. We were proud and happy when, in 2007, we could release his debut album Colonies which Daniel James (the man behind Canon Blue) had finished in collaboration with Chris Taylor from Grizzly Bear. It took almost two years from the first electronic contact before we finally got to meet Daniel. Since then we have spent many fine hours with him as he often joins Efterklang’s live band. Daniel makes some of our absolute favorite music and he is one of our absolute favorite human beings. Like his music, he is generous, big-hearted and deeply inspiring, and we are thankful to be able to call him our friend. Except for future Efterklang releases, Rumspringa will be the very last release on Rumraket, the label we started back in 2003. We can‘t think of a better finish. Enjoy listening!
Rasmus Stolberg, Efterklang

A tour de force if there ever was one, Rumspringa is a dynamic, lush and orchestral Magnum Opus. It has taken Daniel James (aka Canon Blue) more than two years to complete this album and all of his hard work has paid off. The album is as tender as it is spectacular, playful and intense. Dramatic and pulsating arrangements for clarinets and brass weave in and out of warm and lavish sting arrangements. Underneath lies intricate percussion patterns and feisty drums and guitars, while Daniel James' eloquent lyrics and vocal center everything backed by high-spirited choir arrangements. As hard as it is to explain, this music is as inviting and uplifting to listen to. Followers of Sufjan Stevens, Steve Reich and eccentric pop music in general can look forward to listening to this marvel.

The record was written while touring the world with Efterklang, and primarily recorded in the off-hours at their Copenhagen studio. Mads and Casper from Efterklang helped produce the record that features guest appearances by no less than 16 musicians, among them several other Rumraket artists; Slaraffenland, Efterklang and amiina.

Additional info:
The artwork for Rumspringa is made by Hvass&Hannibal, who also have made the artwork for several other Rumraket releases. As the title and theme of the record is inspired by the rumspringa phenomena in the Amish culture, the famous Amish quilts have inspired the artwork.

The many city names in the song titles refer to the cities where Daniel James first started writing the different songs. The first sketches were penned on tour.

Outside of Scandinavia Rumspringa is released on the American label Temporary Residence (home to names like The Books, Explosions in The Sky and The Black Heart Procession).

Gaffa - 5/6 - Rigt orkestreret, komplekst komponeret og udsøgt eksperimenterende indiepop - read

Elle (DK) - 5/6 - Månedens Album!

Dagens Skiva (SE) - 7/10 - Ambitiösa popsymfonier ... Avantgardistisk pop - read

Fyns Stiftstidende (DK) - 5/6
- Arrangementerne er vilde og forfriskende, til tider grænsende til det psykedeliske.

Jyllands-Posten (DK) - 4/6 - Daniel James synger fornemt og har elver-ører for gode melodier og medrivende arrangementer.

Kristiansstadsbladet (SE) - 4/5
- Här finns stor känsla i detta. Något beundransvärt uppriktigt. Canon Blue spelar delvis på samma plan som kanadensiska Broken Social Scene. Maffigt och själfullt i ett. - read 

Soundvenue (DK) - 4/6
- Det er en frydefuld oplevelse at lytte til amerikanske Daniel James’ andet album. Hermed anbefalet - read 

Tidningen Kulturen (SE) - Danska gruppen Efterklang lägger ner sitt bolag Rumraket, men de gör det med kvalitet - read 

New York Times - Orchestral indie-pop love songs... Rich, ambitious and very contemporary.

Magnet - Rumpspringa’s orchestral sound seems to document Daniel James’ period of self-discovery and musical growth. - The result is extravagant ebullience, or music that feels both infinite and intricate. These songs sometimes reflect doubt and worry, but they feel like parachutes, too, meant to lift the listener out of troubles.